Orangecello – An Italian Summer Delight.

7 Dec

A party is not a party without cocktails!

I decided to incorporate Giada’s Orangecello recipe into my menu after watching her make it on her TV show at the Foodnetwork channel. The episode was “Cucina Capri.”  It looked very simple and really refreshing!

Photo of Giada in Capri. I would love to go there some day! (Among, many, many, many other places around the world!)

Orangecello

  • 7 medium navel oranges, preferably organic
  • 1 (750ml) bottle vodka
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar

Using a vegetable peeler, remove the peel from the oranges in long strips (reserve the oranges for another use). Using a small sharp knife, trim away the white pith from the orange peels; discard the pith. Put the orange peels in a 2-quart pitcher or large glass bowl. Pour the vodka over the peels and cover with plastic wrap. Steep the orange peels in the vodka for 4 days at room temperature.

In a medium saucepan, combine the water and sugar over medium heat. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the sugar has dissolved. Remove the pan from the heat and allow the syrup to cool, about 20 minutes. Pour the syrup over the vodka mixture. Cover and let stand at room temperature overnight. Strain the orangecello through a mesh strainer. Discard the peels. Transfer the orangecello to bottles. Seal the bottles and refrigerate until cold, at least 4 hours and up to 1 month.

I was a little nervous because I’ve never made anything like this before. And so I gathered 7 navel oranges, a bottle of vodka and starting working on my potion. 

It was quite simple really. I used a peeler to peel off the skins of 7 oranges and placed them in a clear, glass bowl. Then I simply dumped the entire bottle of vodka in it! Whoa! That was a lot of vodka. I covered it and left it sitting in room temperature for 3 days (unfortunately, I did not have 4 days like the recipe called for).

By the time the 3rd daywas up, I realized I made a huge timing mistake. CRAP. I didn’t realize that after adding the simple syrup I still needed to leave the mixture overnight and in room temperature before the process of straining, bottling, refridgerating! Great~ I am screwed. My party was the next day!!!

And so I decided to mix the simple syrup into the mixture, strain and cool for use the night of my party. I figured 1-2 days difference wouldn’t make too much of a difference.

I strained the mixture into a cute, glass bottle I had purchased at World Market for only $2 and then left it to cool in the fridge until I was ready to use it. I didn’t share this cocktail with everyone until later in the evening when it was chilled and after everyone ate!

Umm… warning! This is a very strong vodka beverage! I thought it was also too sweet. I’ve never had authentic Italian Orangecello before so I’m not sure if it is supposed to be that strong (alcohol content) and sweet, but all my guests enjoyed it as an after meal liquor. Some sipped on it… and some, let’s just say poured it into little glass cups and swallowed it one gulp at a time!

Concensus: Yes, I would make this beverage again. I think that it would also very be tasty served with some soda water or tonic water.

Leave a comment